Dog Licenses

Dog Licenses

Dog Licenses

The State of Michigan requires ALL dogs over 4 months to be current with rabies vaccine and to have a Michigan dog license, failure to comply may result in a misdemeanor ticket. You may purchase a one or three year dog license:           

​Fee Type​1 Year​​3 Year
​Altered dog (proof required)​​$10​$25
​Unaltered dog​​$25​$60
​Late Fee​$20​$20
 
In order for your license to be good for 1 year or 3 years, your rabies vaccine has to be good the entire time.
  • 1 Year Example:  If it is January 1, 2014, and you try to buy a license, and your rabies expires on August 1, 2014.  Your license will only be good until August 1, 2014.
  • 3 Year Example:  If it is January 1, 2014 and you want to buy a 3 year license, your rabies has to be good for all 3 years, until January 1, 2017.  If it expires a few months before January 1, 2017, you can only buy a 1 year license.

The goal is to have you get your dog's rabies vaccine and then buy a license on the same time schedule. 

Therefore, when you renew your dog's rabies vaccine, you would renew your license at the same time for the same time period.

 
A license must be purchased within 30 days of:
  •   Purchasing or acquiring a new dog
  •   A puppy turning 4 months of age
  •   Becoming a Michigan resident
  •  The expiration date of the prior license
Where to buy a dog license: 
State of Michigan dog licenses can be purchased at the County Treasurer’s Office, located in the historical courthouse in downtown Howell, your local municipality or Livingston County Animal Control and Shelter.