Detective Bureau

Detective Bureau


The Detective Bureau is a specialized investigative unit, which works in conjunction with Uniformed Services on unresolved field investigations and specialized criminal investigations. Detectives conduct complex criminal investigations by gathering all available information including detailed interviewing of victim(s), witnesses, and potential suspect(s), collecting and preserving evidence, processing crime scenes, conducting surveillance, and obtaining search warrants. Detectives also evaluate crime trends and patterns using modern police technology in their efforts to prevent or complete a criminal investigation.

Detectives work Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., with a rotating on call status every week.  If you would like to contact one of the detectives, Administrative Aide, property room manager or narcotics officer please do so by calling (517) 546-2440 or the number listed below.  If the person you wish to speak with is not available, please leave a detailed message with a day and night time phone number.  

If there is a crime in progress, Call 911

Detective Bureau ContactsEmailPhone Number
Det. Lieutenant Jim Lynch
jlynch@livgov.com
(517) 540-7902
Det. Sergeant Gary Childers
gchilders@livgov.com(517) 540-7956
Det. Greg Thompson
gthompson@livgov.com(517) 540-7941
Det. Jim McGinty jmcginty@livgov.com(517) 540-7999
Det. Matt Young
myoung@livgov.com(517) 540-7960
Det. Don Welch dwelch@livgov.com(517) 540-7930
Det. Mark King mking@livgov.com(517) 540-7953
Det. Curt Novara cnovara@livgov.com(517) 540-7952
Tom Dorsey, Property Room Manager tdorsey@livgov.com(517) 540-7915
Lori Baird, Administrative Aide lbaird@livgov.com(517) 540-7959
Narcotics Tip Line
(517) 546-8477