Detective Bureau

Detective Bureau


The Detective Bureau is a specialized investigative unit, which works in conjunction with Uniformed Services on unresolved field investigations and specialized criminal investigations. Detectives conduct complex criminal investigations by gathering all available information including detailed interviewing of victim(s), witnesses, and potential suspect(s), collecting and preserving evidence, processing crime scenes, conducting surveillance, and obtaining search warrants. Detectives also evaluate crime trends and patterns using modern police technology in their efforts to prevent or complete a criminal investigation.

Detectives work Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., with a rotating on call status every week.  If you would like to contact one of the Detectives, please phone the Detective Bureau at (517) 540-7959 and your call will be routed to the appropriate person. To contact the  Property Room Manager or narcotics officer please do so by calling (517) 546-2440 or the number listed below.  If the person you wish to speak with is not available, please leave a detailed message with a day and night time phone number.  

If there is a crime in progress, Call 911

Detective Bureau ContactsEmailPhone Number
​Detective Bureau
(517) 540-7959
Det. Lieutenant Jim Lynch
jlynch@livgov.com
(517) 540-9742
Det. Sergeant Matt Young
myoung@livgov.com
(517) 540-7960
Det. Jim McGinty jmcginty@livgov.com
Det. Jacob Fairbanks
jfairbanks@livgov.com

Det. Jason Davis
jdavis@livgov.com

Det. Marc King mking@livgov.com
Det. Curt Novara cnovara@livgov.com
Jeff Klein, Property Room Manager jklein@livgov.com
(517) 540-7915
Narcotics Tip Line
(517) 546-8477