***** New Dog License fees effective December 1, 2013 *****
Michigan State Law requires that all dogs over four (4) months old be licensed.
To obtain a dog license, you will need to provide proof of current rabies vaccination and proof of spaying/neutering (if applicable) at the time you purchase the license. By State Statute, this information must be provided EVERY time you renew your dog license.
Dog License Fees, are as follows:
|Replacement License (Lost Tag)||$5.00||$5.00|
- Relocating to Livingston County with an existing valid Michigan Dog License – No charge within thirty (30) days from move-in date.
- Service Dog - No charge with proper documentation. NOTE: Service Dog Tags are only issued at the Livingston County Treasurer's Office.
Per the Americans with Disabilities (ADA) website: "Service animals are defined as dogs that are individually trained to do work or perform tasks for people with disabilities. Examples of such work or tasks include guiding people who are blind, alerting people who are deaf, pulling a wheelchair, alerting and protecting a person who is having a seizure, reminding a person with mental illness to take prescribed medications, calming a person with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) during an anxiety attack, or performing other duties. Service animals are working animals, not pets. The work or task a dog has been trained to provide must be directly related to the person’s disability. Dogs whose sole function is to provide comfort or emotional support do not qualify as service animals under the ADA.
Dog Licenses now expire when the rabies vaccination expires.
The County Treasurer's office will send reminder postcards 60 days prior to the rabies expiration date. Check your rabies expiration date to see if you need to set up an appointment with your veterinarian. Rabies vaccinations can be administered by your vet, any day of the month that the vaccination expires.
New 3 Year Dog Licenses - Rabies Vaccination must cover the complete licensing period. You may find that you must purchase 1 year licenses until your dog becomes eligible for a 3 year license.